Always Follow Your Own Advice

This is a map from StatCounter that integrates recent vistior IP addresses with Google Maps. In a recent rant about the quality of blogging, I made the naive assertion that I didn’t need to follow my own advice because I knew most of my readers in real life. Ironically, that very post brought in visitors from all over the world. While each and every person who reads Upgrade Now holds a special place in my heart, we’re not bestfriendsforever and I realize that I might need clarify my intentions with this blog.

I’d like to keep it personal, but I also want to talk about subjects that other people find interesting, read their comments, learn new things, make new friends, etc.  If it were just about communicating with people I already know, I be fulfilled with Facebook (love you, fb friends!). I read mommy-blogs and I love them. I even tried and failed at my own. I also failed about 4 other times, but even longer ago. I never told anyone about the other blogs because I didn’t want to have to fail.

So, a blog without an audience was my no-fail plan?  Yes, irony is a big part of my life.

I want to write more about the experiences people have on the Internet, in software, and in real life. My 10 year anniversary as an Information Architect (IA) and recent freelancer aspirations have me thinking hard these days. I’m remembering what worked on past projects, thinking about how they were managed and measured, and learning new skills. I want to be more engaged in the discussions I’ve just been watching for the last few years.

I’m not making any spectacular promises regarding the quality and quantity of my blogging. I’m just going to do my best.  Where that isn’t good enough, I will try and win you over with cute pictures of my son, William. At least until he’s old enough to object.

Thank you for visiting!

2 responses to “Always Follow Your Own Advice

  1. I suggest you get as many photos of William as you can now – it won’t be long before you’ll have to hunker down behind chairs, spring around corners or hide under tables to get good shots of your child. You’ll get the old “hand-up-to-the-face” routine which is intended to block your attempt at taking a photo of your child, which, without a doubt, works every time. I can’t tell you how many pictures I have of “Florida palms” – :)
    The hand-up-to-the-face routine is only one of the many and inventive ways children will prevent you from photographing them. They also do the “turn-the-head-to-the-side act” disallowing your getting anything but a cheeck or a nose, which does not make for an appealing picture to anyone except Mom.
    Think on this problem, Ms. Thieler – because William will be a teenager before you know it, and you’re going to want photographs of him throughout the years. If there’s one thing you want to learn, it’s the art of taking your child’s photo when he/she doesn’t want it taken. You might have to learn to be a little sneaky, but it’s worth it to get those Kodak moments.

    • Thanks for the advice. I think he’s already a teenager because as soon as he notices I have the camera out, he charges at me and tries to put his fingers on the lens. These kids today!

Leave a Reply

