Living the Dream: Freelance UX

Hi again. I know it’s been a while since I posted, but some things have changed. I started blogging during a brief period of un-employedness and was able to devote a couple hours each day to reading and writing. It was great. It’s difficult to make time for blogging when you’re working, but I’m going to try harder.

So, what am I doing with the time I used to spend blogging? I’ve started doing freelance/contract user experience work. This is the end of week 2 of 8 on my current contract and so far so good. I work in the office two days a week and from home the other 3. It’s a really good balance for me.

On my work from home days, I get to spend the time I would be commuting and getting ready for work walking and playing in the park with William. My mom watches William during the day (best daycare ever!) and when I’m done I don’t have to face traffic. I just come downstairs, play some more, and then cook dinner. The days I go into the office are a little harder, but it’s good to see the people you work with and get things done in person.

I’ve always wanted to freelance, but never had the courage to set out on my own. A little kick in the butt in the form of being laid off is a good substitute for courage. The Internet made it easier. I posted a status update to Twitter and Facebook and got some great leads right away. I kept an eye out for local opportunities and when I saw a Tweet from a friend about opportunities in her company, I pounced. I’m going to start attending more industry events (I’m a lapsed “joiner”), so I hope to see some of you at Chi-A, IxDA, etc.

I’m cooking up a post about the Real Simple website. I’ll try to get it up soon, but if I don’t do it before Saturday, happy Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

